polepole ndiyo mwendo


alas.
March 6, 2009, 4:38 pm
Filed under: everything

Well hello there. I know, I know. I have not blogged, and here I am. back and only to tell you more about Africa. Im assuming if you aren’t into Africa then you probably peaced out from reading my blog long ago, since it transformed into more of an update of my previous trip last summer and I have not updated much since. 

But, I wanted to take this time to let you know about a new trip I have the honor to be a part of this year to Swaziland and Mozambique. 

here is a little bit from my trip last summer to Tanzania //

picture-support

And now a little about this year’s trip//      

        Well, it’s me again. Where did we leave off last year? I was heading to Tanzania to study Swahili for the summer, right? Oh, yes. Well those six weeks spent in Tanzania were some of the most incredible of my life. I’m not sure how I can even possibly put into words the experience that I had. The faces of the people that I met and each aspect of that land- the culture, the language, their love and hospitality will never leave me, its engraved in my heart and I don’t want to ever let it go. I truly believe that God used my experience there to grow the passion he placed in my heart for that continent stronger and deeper.

            Over the past year I have continued with my studies at LSU, and am now a year away from getting my major in International Studies, with a concentration in Africa and the Middle East. After returning home this summer I began working at the Baton Rouge Business Report as an intern working under sales and marketing. It is a truly wonderful job from which I am constantly learning.

Now for the fun stuff . . . this summer there is a new adventure in the works and oh am I excited. God has yet again amazed me and opened up a trip for me to go to Swaziland and Mozambique, Africa with the Healing Place Church Serve team! I will be journeying across the pond from May 27- June 7th to visit the HPC campuses in Swaziland and Mozambique as well as take part in training the local leadership of the church about serving their community through culturally relevant outreaches. If you know anything about HPC, its that the DNA of our church is to be a healing place for a hurting world and that we do that by serving people, the same way Jesus did. This is going to be an incredible opportunity to impact the way hurting people in two countries in Africa are served and brought the joy that comes from a relationship with Jesus. I cannot believe I am even able to be a part.

            SO, after all of that, I am asking you to join with me. Stand with me. Pray. And, you feel moved in your heart, to give. This trip will cost $3,600. It seems like quite a bit to raise, but I believe that through your partnership and my own saving, that God will provide a way. More than that I just want to thank you for your continual support, you have no idea how much it means and I have no idea where I would be without it!

For those who are to come , Leah.

 

For I assisted the poor in their need, and the orphans who required help, I helped those without hope, and they blessed me. And I caused the widows’ hearts to sing for joy.

  -Job 29:12-13

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] // Leah Friedrichs […]

Pingback by // Josh-Bob.com //

[…] // Leah Friedrichs […]

Pingback by [ joshbob: Joshua Ferrara ]




Leave a Reply

